The Linden Tree

If you have never smelled the fragrance of a Linden tree, then I encourage you to stop out at W5123 Natures Way Dr. in Sherwood (Forrest Run Pet Cemetery) sometime within the next couple of weeks. You will find five of them in full bloom.  I usually take some time on a hot summer day to lay on my back underneath one of them and listen to the humming of the pollinating  bees inside them.  The flowers in the Linden trees that the bees are pollinating have one of the most intoxicating, pleasant and peaceful fragrances you will ever experience.  I promise.  Of course I might be a little biased.

Fragrances have a way of bringing back memories.  Hopefully, most of them pleasant, like Grandma’s kitchen or Grandpa’s garage. The fragrance of the Linden tree while in full bloom, will always bring me back to July 1, 2005.  That was the day I bought my house in Sherwood, right next to the Pet Cemetery where all the Linden trees were in full bloom.  It was a time of mixed emotions for me.  I had just left my very secure job at Laemmrich Funeral Home in Menasha the day before,  on June 30th.  I had spent 11 years of my life there, the last 8 as the General Manager.  Anybody that knows me, knows that this is considered a long time!  The new company that bought the funeral home told me I had to sell Forrest Run because it was a conflict of interest.   I told them to go fly a kite and out the door I went….. to “fly my own kite”.

July 1, 2005 was a Friday, so needless to say, it was the 4th of July all weekend.  I remember sitting in my new house that night watching some dumb movie, listening to the fireworks booming, and……… smelling the fragrance of the Linden trees.  The smell brought me a sense of comfort and security at the beginning of a new stage of life for me.  Here I was in this little community called Sherwood that I really knew nothing about except that it had High Cliff State Park and the Pet Cemetery I had bought.  I now lived on “the other side of the lake”.  The side of the lake that I used to look at when I was a kid, fishing with my brother by the Lighthouse at Riverside Park in Neenah, wondering what and where those “Mountains” were.  I felt like I was on the other side of the world rather than just the lake.  Away from everything that had become familiar for me.   Fear? Check.  Excitement?  Check.  A little loneliness?  Check. Vodka? Check. Dog? Check.  I had just quit my job and bought my first house!   Who does that?  Most people GET a job and buy a house!  I did have a part time job secured at Wichmann Funeral Home, but I was taking the summer to do some things at Forrest Run and not starting at the funeral home until fall.   I figured the money I made there working part time would pay my mortgage and I would figure out where the rest of the money would come from.  Talk about a leap of faith for someone who doesn’t have much of it!

As I look back now, I realize that it might have been just……. a little crazy?  But with a little luck and hard, but enjoyable work, it all worked out. Sherwood is a great community, and a great place to call home.  My kite is still flying high since July 1, 2005.  Right in between the Linden trees.

Leave a Reply

